Manchester's Creepiest Abandoned Buildings Are Scary AF
Th idea of Manchester as a modern bustling city is left far behind when you look at these stunning location.
Spooky and left forgotten, these incredible spots reveal Greater Manchester as you won't have seen it before, all with an eerie atmosphere.
Shared online by enthusiasts - like the stunning shot above from 0161 Manchester of Hulme Hippodrome (see below) for the creepy side of city life, they are a window on a past which not all of us will remember, but we can all appreciate.
Word to the wise - these properties are mostly privately-owned and trespassers can face legal repercussions at the discretion of the owners.
World War II tunnels have long since lost their intended use, but still warren their way under the city.
There is a tube station that never was, a communications bunker, air raid shelters, canals and even shops - all left unloved and eerie right underneath your feet...
Victoria Arches have changed from busy landing stages to bricked up, derelict spaces in their 178-year history.
Originally created when embankment was built along the River Irwell, they were situated under the new Victoria Street.
From providing the landing stages for packet-steam riverboats down on the Irwell, the often-flooded spaces closed around 1906, before being used for storage.
Later, during the Luftwaffe assaults of World War Two they were refitted as air raid shelters - and now they boast a silence louder than bombs.
The Grade II-listed theatre seated 3,000 when it was opened to the public as the Grand Junction Theatre and Floral Hall in 1901m before being renamed the Hulme Hippodrome inn 1905 hen it became a music hall.
Other names include the Second Manchester Repertory Theatre in 1942, and uses included a 1962 conversion to a bingo hall and then a nightclub.
Closing in 1986, it's in a bad state of repair inside and outside, the echo of applause and laughter long gone.
St Thomas Hospital
This Stockport hospital started life as a workhouse, known locally as 'The Grubber', opening its doors on Christmas Day 1841.
After that, the now-abandoned building in Shaw Heath treated thousands of older people and psychiatric patients.
In 1895, the British Medical Journal report described inmates as being ‘packed in like sardines in a tin’ while the female wards were ‘comfortless and barnlike’ as well as being ‘dangerously overcrowded’.
After 1912, the workhouse was officially known as Stockport Poor Law Institution before being renamed Shaw Heath Hospital in 1948, until its christening as St Thomas Hospital, in 1954. It finally closed in 2007.
Manchester's extensive baths are often repurposed or refurbished - Withington Baths and Victoria Baths have both been given a taste of their former glories.
But Harpurhey Baths - whilst arguably having similarly amazing features - was one sad Edwardian icon left to rot.
The building, on Rochdale Road, was decommissioned in 2001, but it has a new lease of life ahead - albeit with pools removed - since the Manchester College of Arts and Technology took it over to create a new learning space.
These amazing pictures, captured by Urban Bloody Bear Explorers, show Bolton College in its abandoned glory.
Accredited as an academic college in 1959, four years later it split into Bolton Technical College and the Bolton Institute of Technology - now the university.
Following the identification of a new site, in September, 2010, the location closed its doors for the last time.
Cheadle Royal Hospital
Watching @molly_fairclough #ruin #derelict #abandoned #cheadleroyalmentalhospital #CheadleRoyalHospital #abandonedattic #fireplace #woodenbeams #puddle #reflection #grafitti #derelictbuilding #shell #urbexing #urbexuk #forgotten #history #oldbuilding #stockport #naturereclaim #iPhone6 #joist #barewalls #brickwork #windows #doors
Originally the Manchester Royal Lunatic Asylum, this unique medical facility on Wilmslow Road in Heald Green was founded in 1763.
Built between 1848-1849, the main building is Grade II listed
In 1851 there were 18 men and 7 women patients, and by 1862 there were 62.